My Top 10 Favourite Disney Films – Hope Eliza

To start off this blog, I thought I’d post about my favourite Disney films! If anyone else wants to do the same just head to the ‘Want To Submit’ page!

I’ve decided to only count Disney films, so no Pixar/Marvel or Star Wars here, they deserve their own list.

10. Saving Mr. Banks (2013)

open-uri20150608-27674-rttkbp_60b847d4.jpeg

 

 

 

Surprisingly, this film beat out other ones that I would have thought would make this list, I’m not sure what it is but I really like this film! Perhaps it’s because I love seeing the magic behind the movies, I really can’t explain why I find this film so enchanting, I’m not even a big Mary Poppins fan! I thought Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks were great in this and I always find myself getting emotional towards the end of this film during the premiere scene. I feel as if this film is a little underrated so if you get the chance, watch this film for yourselves! It’s definitely not a waste of time.

9. Alice in Wonderland (1951)

maxresdefault.jpgThis was one of my childhood favourites, I had a blue dress with white frills on it that I named “my Alice dress” and I still have the VHS tape of it now even though my family don’t keep VHS tapes anymore due to clutter. Like a lot of the entries on this list, it probably made it into my top 10 due to childhood nostalgia but I love the visuals of this movie, I think my favourite scene in this film other than the Golden Afternoon scene is where Alice is in the Tulgey Wood/Very Good Advice scene, I just loved seeing all the wonderful creatures like the birds that were also bird cages, the pair of glasses with legs and a beak, the dog that acts like a broom, I just loved the imagination in this scene.

8. Big Hero 6 (2014)

big-hero-6.jpgAs sad as Big Hero 6 makes me, I love it a lot. I’m a big fan of the San Francisco/Tokyo mix as well as all the technology and robotics in this film. The soundtrack for this is also one of my favourites! I’m looking forward to the Big Hero 6 TV series that I believe is set for release in Autumn 2017! Fun fact: I actually cosplayed as Honey Lemon for a convention a couple of years ago, it was great fun except walking in huge heels all day!

7. Tangled (2010)

gallery-1433348648-tangled-rapunzel-hair-flynn-rider.jpg Who doesn’t love Tangled?! I love Tangled for so many reasons, the unbelievably catchy songs, the oh so loveable main characters, I could go on! I think it’s safe to say that Rapunzel is one of if not, my favourite Disney princess, she strayed from the usual Disney princess mould by being pretty handy with a frying pan! Coincidentally Flynn is possibly my favourite prince too! I’m currently working my way through the Tangled TV series which I will review soon.

 6. Aladdin (1992)

image_3ed34004Again, this was my favourite as a kid! I was going to say in the last entry that Flynn Rider was the first prince that started out as a thief but then I remembered Aladdin! I know I said the songs were good in Tangled and probably many other entries in this list but in Aladdin they really, really are! I challenge you to find one person in the modern world that doesn’t know “A whole new woooooooooooorld!” and do I even need to mention the Genie? He is the heart and soul of Aladdin, sure you love Aladdin and Jasmine but this film would not be the same without Genie!

5. Pete’s Dragon (2016)

gallery_petesdragon_08_e55941cd.jpeg Another fairly underrated film on this list, Pete’s Dragon! Now, I’m exclusively only including the 2016 movie because honestly… I haven’t seen the original! I know, I need to fix that. I saw Pete’s Dragon at the cinema on my 20th birthday so maybe the sense of sentimentality contributes to my love of this film. I am a big fan of other similar films though! films like; How To Train Your Dragon, The Iron Giant, Lilo & Stitch, etc. that follow the story of child finds a dragon/alien and they become best friends, This is such a heartfelt film and I’m so glad I decided to see it on a whim.

4. Beauty and the Beast (2017)

beautyandthebeast-review.jpgNow, I am of course a fan of the 1991 original animated film, however since seeing the live action film, I am so in love with it, so consider this entry both of the films but I’m mainly talking about the live action film. I know there were quite a few changes and additions made to the live action film and honestly, I wasn’t so sure at first but after seeing it 3 times at the cinema, I’m totally comfortable with all the changes, It feels more like it’s own film instead of a direct copy. I just love seeing all my favourite things of the original bought to life.

3. Hercules (1997)

filottete-in-hercules-maxw-654.jpg“Who put the glad in gladiator? Hercules!” A fan favourite, appreciated a little time after it’s release. So as I said that Rapunzel was my favourite princess, Megara is one of my favourite female characters! (I say favourite female character just because she’s not a princess) and once again; how great are the songs in Hercules?! I may have to say that I Won’t Say (I’m In Love) is possibly my favourite Disney song. This film is sometimes considered a “boy’s film” but don’t believe that, it’s got something for everyone.

2. Lilo & Stitch (2002)

liloandstitch.pngAs mentioned in the Pete’s Dragon entry, I’m a sucker for child meets strange creature films so Lilo & Stitch is perfect for me! I’m also fascinated by Hawaii, it’s my dream to go there one day but until then, I’ll have to watch this film. I’m a big fan of Chris Sanders’ work, I love his art work and the way he tells stories, I always admire every character in his films as they’re all so diverse! I’m sure everyone has seen this film by now but remembers there’s also something like 3 sequels and a TV series to watch too!

1. 102 Dalmatians

bbdebde616f74d31e1131c44997d9271.jpgThose of you who know me would have seen this coming, but I’m hoping that it’s a surprise to those of you that don’t! I’m a big fan of the whole of the Disney’s Dalmatians franchise from 101 Dalmatians (1961) 101 Dalmatians live action (1996) (102 Dalmatians is the sequel to this) and even the 101 Dalmatians TV series, it has caused a love of the breed that I haven’t been able to shake from a young age. I must still love this film due to my love of it as a child, nostalgia plays a big part in my life, I love re-living my childhood!

So there it is! My top 10 favourite Disney films! I could definitely add more films to this list but I actually really struggled to write about why I love these films like, I just do! I can’t explain it! If you’d like to read more about the films I like head over to my main blog; hopeelizablog.wordpress.com and if you’d like to submit your own list of favourite Disney films, head over to the ‘Want To Submit’ Page!

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Favourite Disney Films – Hope Eliza

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

